Steve Walton at Hoghton Tower Sprint

Here’s the latest update from Steve Walton, Sprint Champion and salesman at our Romford branch, who achieved fastest time of the day (and class winner) at this year’s Hoghton Tower Sprint. 

Hoghton1Despite finishing second overall in the ACU British Sprint Championship last year unfortunately due to lack of funds/sponsor I am unlikely to be able to be a contender for the championship this year so will probably only be able to do selected events. I did however make the annual trek north to the Hoghton Tower Sprint recently. Held at the fabulous venue of Hoghton Tower near Preston with the kind permission of Sir Bernard de Hoghton, this was the 40th running of this historic event. This year saw a large entry of well over 100 machines covering a diverse range of machinery. I was entered into the largest class – Modern Superbike (1000 4 cylinder, 1200 Twins & Triples) which included some previous winners of the coveted Roderick Collins Trophy for Fastest Time of the Day!

Weather conditions were much better than last year although the more powerful machines were still struggling for grip. Each competitor had two practice runs before lunch although for some reason there was a glitch with the timing gear and I didn’t get a time for one of my runs. After the lunch break the timed runs began in earnest and despite the skies looking threatening it remained dry. Grip was still at a premium, however it had improved slightly as rubber was laid down on the surface. My first timed run was okay although I did experience a little wheelspin away from the line but at the end of the first session I was leading my class as well as the event overall! My second run was just 0.099 seconds quicker to consolidate my lead.

The third and final run times weren’t given out straight away so I had to wait until the prize giving ceremony to find out where I had finished. With the prizes being awarded by Sir Bernard de Hoghton and a member of the Collins family it was confirmed that I had not only won my class but also recorded the fastest time of the day although it was a close run thing with my nearest rival being just 0.016 seconds behind!

ALL PHOTOS IN THIS ARTICLE COURTESY OF SUSAN RIGBY AT SK-ART.CO.UK.

For more information – http://www.hoghtontower.co.uk/ and here https://www.facebook.com/Marshalsnorthwest?

Hoghton3

Follow us on: Follow us on Facebook twitter-icon2 Jack Lilley LinkedIn Join our YouTube channel Visit our Pinterest photo album
Leave a Reply

