Steve Walton Brighton Speed Trials

Here’s the latest update from Steve Walton, salesman at our Romford branch who also happens to be one of the UK’s fastest sprint riders… 

Brighton2015Steve

“The Brighton National Speed Trials returned to Madeira Drive on Saturday with more than 260 drivers and motorcycle riders taking part in the event which is generally regarded as the oldest motorsport event in the world having been running since 1905!

“Freddie Hunt, son of Formula One World Champion James Hunt, was the latest famous motorsport name to take part in the event following in the tyre tracks of Sir Malcolm Campbell, Mike Hawthorn, Sir Stirling Moss, Formula 1 boss Bernie Eccleston and John Hobbs who still competes to this day!

“After the morning practice run I was fastest in my class and despite the changing conditions and stiff opposition from various machines I managed to improve on my time to consolidate my lead to take the class win at the end of the day. My best run of the day put me into 5th fastest overall which entered me in to the ‘Top Six Run Off’ which allows you another run to attempt to better your earlier times but unfortunately I actually ran 6/100ths of a second slower so my overall position didn’t change (although I was the highest placed normally aspirated machine) and was classified 5th fastest overall from all the car and motorcycle entries.

“The awards were presented to a packed audience in the clubhouse of the Brighton and Hove Motor Club where I was awarded a magnificent trophy for the overall win in the production class – roll on next year!”

BrightonResults

.

Follow us on: Follow us on Facebook twitter-icon2 Jack Lilley LinkedIn Join our YouTube channel Visit our Pinterest photo album
Leave a Reply

