What’s Your Favourite Beer?

beer
Following on from last week, when we asked you to tell us about your favourite burger, this week we’re asking the question:  What’s your favourite beer?  To get the ball rolling, we asked Hugh from our Ashford branch for his thoughts…

“Choosing a favourite beer? Mmmm that’s a tough one – there’s not many beers I don’t like, so it’s hard to know where to start. Let’s start by ruling out the ones I don’t like… there’s a couple of very popular Mexican lagers which I just don’t understand the appeal of – I find them very bland, almost like drinking a soft drink. The lagers I DO like are Kronenbourg 1664 and an excellent Polish beer called Zywiec (no, I don’t know how to pronounce it either…) which I highly recommend. I used to love Stella Artois but for some reason it has completely changed recently. It was always 5.2%, then it dropped to 5%. Still drinkable, but now it seems to have dropped again to 4.8% and it tastes like a totally different beer.

“But my true preference is for real ales and there are literally hundreds to choose from, all with their own unique character and flavour. It’s almost impossible to choose a favourite, but here’s a few I’d recommend. If your buying cans, one of the best ones is Tanglefoot from Badger brewery in Blandford, Dorset – the flavour seems to survive the canning process better than most. If I’m buying bottled beers, one of my favourites is Hobgoblin from Wychwood brewery in Witney, Oxfordshire. My all-time favourite bottled beer is Adnams Broadside, brewed in Southwold in Suffolk. Not for the faint-hearted though, at 6.3%. As for draught beers – I just try whatever takes my fancy at the time. It’s rare to find one I don’t like, although I personally tend to stay away from weaker beers (anything below 4.5% as a general rule). My advice is find a nice pub that offers a good range of real ales and work your way through them, half pint at a time…”

Follow us on: Follow us on Facebook twitter-icon2 Jack Lilley LinkedIn
Join our YouTube channel
Visit our Pinterest photo album
Leave a Reply

